Assessment of Reeling Prototypes by Line Condition

I used to work in a company that was a market leader in offshore cranes and also did a lot of research on UHWMPE cables (interesting because of their neutral buoyancy in water for really deep operations). I am by no means an expert on the subject, but some informations still trickled through to me.

This problem for sure is real. Winching such tether back and forth is difficult.

On the other hand, it seems to me very manageable. Use thicker tether or other materials for the wearing sections. Use existing condition monitoring tools to estimate wear, and replace the tether sections when worn.

Have contingency plans for when the tether eventually breaks.

It all seems like though a worthwhile discussion in terms of engineering, in terms of making AWE happen, its of secondary nature.

2 Likes

And it is perhaps the same for the possible soft kite wear due to the two flight modes in reeling operation.

Soft kites also have flutter and multi axial loads to contend with

For soft kites I think the problem is more interesting in terms of AWE because it’s more domain specific and you wont find many ready made solutions when scaling up.

Flutter is probably a killer for a soft kite (kite producers recommend never leaving a kite fluttering in the wind). This is a quite complex domain to master IMHO, and only a very few people in the world know how to design innovative soft kites (at least if there are many they are not known to me).

On a kind of related subject, pulleys in the kite bridle, with the kite being either rigid, soft or somewhere in between (eg windsurfing sail), is probably difficult to monitor and probably has severe failure modes. My guess is they must be avoided if possible, or perhaps made redundant otherwise. I consider this every time I look at a design incorporating pulleys.