I was a newbie idiot regarding net-metering

Well I’ve been saying all along, I probably call myself an idiot almost every day at some point, whenever I do something dumb, which we all do.

A couple of days ago, after 13 years of not looking closely at my electric bill, I realized I was losing out on over a thousand dollars per year of excess electricity generation, over my usage. When I bought this ranch, it had a noisily-operating 10 kW Bergey wind turbine on a 120-foot tower. (I learned years later that Bergey had gone through a bad batch of main bearings for the generator/rotors, affecting a number of turbines).

The local installer, the most prolific in the world, and someone I considered a friend at that time, had put in around 150 of these systems in our general area - maybe the most homes powered by wind turbines anywhere in the world. He told me my turbine was still under its 5-year warranty, and had a crane come over to take down the turbine to send it back to Bergey in Oklahoma for a rebuild. (Mike Bergey, the owner, was also a friend of mine, who had even offered me a job. Me and Mike and the local installer used to hang out at wind energy trade shows around the country, having lunch, etc.)

Anyway, this local installer, attempting to tilt down my 120-foot tower with the half-ton Bergey 10k turbine on top, connected two of the three vertical struts to the belt connected to the crane, placing the single third vertical strut in compression, and thereby buckled the attached tower section, dropping my turbine 100 feet, smashing it to the ground. Luckily, nobody got hurt. but this local installer "just happened " to have a used turbine on a trailer with him, which he had bought back from a customer, and “kindly offered” to substitute this used turbine, which he said was also under warranty, for my now-smashed turbine.