Is the real cost of green hydrogen an opportunity for AWE?

https://twitter.com/gnievchenko/status/1333085676884078599

1 Like

I think not at this stage. AWE itself is not mature enough to produce cheap enough power to compete with producing green H2 powered from the grid.

So, #1 is that AWE must most times produce power cheaper than grid power.

#2 is that AWE must do do enough of the time (capacity factor) so that the plant investment costs of the H2 plant doe not offset the increased earnings due to having cheap electricity.

I can only say from cryptocurrency mining where I have some experience, the investment in the mining hardware is a large part of running cost, as well as maintenance costs. For mining in particular hardware costs are quite high as new and better processors become available all the time. So you need to be mining 24/7 for those 18 months (this number is just a guesstimate) where the hardware is still competitive. After those 18 months, it does not make sense anymore to keep the hardware running, unless you have power at below market price.

In this context, it does not make much sense to connect the mining hardware only to wind energy, as you want to utilize the plant 24/7.

I expect some of the same type of calculations apply to H2 production.

One could offset this effect somewhat by using both AWE and grid energy to produce H2, whichever is available at a time, and if it is cheap enough. This is not exactly contributing to the environmental impact because you are spending grid energy when there is no wind and not providing any power when there is power.

This being said, these things are still interesting, and from an economic point of view, adding such capabilities to any wind power plant could increase overall earnings. But I dont believe this will be the case for a long time yet.