morphing kite wing

Kite Wings developments & passive phases:
Uploading: Image_1—Variable Wing Geometry.jpg…
Uploading: Image_2—Variable Wing Geometry.jpg…
Uploading: Image_3—Variable Wing Geometry.jpg…

Here in the annexed images an old research, done when I was a young paraglider pilot.
The concept is easy, the solution not the same easy: a «morphing flexifoil wing» able to change its geometry (wing span, L/D, wing aspect ratio, vertical wing speed etc.).
This is one of the transversal activities that I would like to add to the KGM1 research program, in addition to the development of a semi-rigid wing made with three different technologies; uin any case I put the experience done at disposal if could fit on other teams.

6 Likes

Welcome to the forum @MarcoGhiva ,

Morphing kite wing looks to be a very interesting topic.
I can’t download the images. Could you please attach them directly?

Below is a description of a sort of morphing kite using a leading edge inflatable wing.

All these wings could be suitable to mitigate the energy consumed during reel-in depower phase, for yo-yo (kite-reeling, or bounding) mode.

Yes, this concept was born for increase the safety of a paraglider canopy (I was sucked two times from a storm and is not a good way to fly), but can be transferred on the AWE kite wings. There are some issues to solve, one big is related to the wing twisting, but I think that flexible wings have big opportunities in a such direction.

4 Likes

@MarcoGhiva
Marco, brilliant to see you posting here. Thanks.
Very intricate skilled work putting that together.
Looks like the tech could be very useful also for the lifting kite in the kind of systems I like flying.
e.g. lower wind - larger span - same lift - happy operator
do you have any test data or general advice on how stability is affected when the wing is compressed?

Could be very handy for reducing the winching needs of launch equipment in my case.
So cool to see
Thanks again Marco
Roddy

Ciao Rod,