blog post: The Future of Wind is Airborne

I recently wrote a blog post breaking down the airborne wind energy industry for the general public and since I am not a technical expert, I would love to hear if I missed anything or if I got anything wrong to get a better understanding.

4 Likes

I think the article is very nice and spot on

Maybe mention cubic scaling of mass vs square scaling of wing area…

2 Likes

Thanks!

Sorry I am not aware of this, why is it the case that there is cubic scaling of mass vs square scaling of the wing area? Is that mostly because you need to use stronger/thicker material when you increase the size of the wing?

Rigid wings undergo more or less cubic scaling of volume and mass.

Flexible wings also undergo scaling of mass, but at a lesser magnitude.

Page 532 of the pdf below:
http://www.azc-llc.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/ch31_awe11_dunker.pdf

The development originated as an Advanced Concept Technology Demonstrator research program from Natick Soldier Systems, whereby iteratively heavier weight requirements were levied (0.25 ton, 1 ton, 2.25 tons, 4.5 tons, 13.5 tons, and finally 19 tons). The wing sizes were 36 m², 102 m², 250 m², 350 m², 900 m², and 1,040 m², respectively. After a given weight could be reliably flown and landed precisely, a heavier requirement was set. The technology evolved to be modular, stackable, and scalable, using the root airfoil throughout. The 1,040 m² wing, made possible by modularity, was simply a swap-out of wider wingtips from the 900 m² wing. It is noted that as the wing became larger, a heavier wing loading was used.

2 Likes

Hi @daviddemeij
Yeah I’d seen your article flagged up for me on twitter.
Cool.
As I replied there
From the article

As the kite gets larger and heavier it can be harder to manoeuvre and generates relatively less power (part of the energy goes towards counteracting gravity).

That’s 1 reason we use a network array scaling approach

Well done on your research

1 Like