Why non-crosswind type is not popular?

I’m new in AWE thing. Why most of AWE stuff are based on crosswind type. How is the autorotation helicopter/multirotor strapped to tether (skyWindpower style) power generation compared with the crosswind type (Like most of player in the market)?

2 Likes

Welcome @mingaero ,

Indeed Sky WindPower is classed in rotational AWES with electricity generation on the flying device, classification on Figure 2 page 3 on the pdf (Electricity in the air: Insights from two decades of advanced control research and experimental flight testing of airborne wind energy systems) on the link on the message below:

For now it looks like crosswind devices produced more electricity during experimental tests:

Figure 15: average 92 kW, 12 m/s wind speed.

Hi @mingaero
Good question.
Any blade generating power from the wind, generates more power when it increases the apparent wind. (up to a point)
Travelling a path perpendicular to the wind increases the apparent wind over the blade.
Sky Windpower used a frame with 4x rotors on generators to send electrical power down a conducting tether. The tether connected to the frame with bridles.

Here is an introduction:

Airborne Wind Energy - Producing Energy with Kites

Sky Windpower style lifts the entire wind turbine into the air, which is heavy, and can’t sweep as much area, so can’t produce as much power, it’s not even close IIRC. I think that’s the main reason it is not pursued more, as the goal is to produce electricity. Also the electric cable to the ground becomes heavy. Lifting heavy things needs a strong wind so your capacity factor, what percentage of the time you’re generating electricity, becomes lower. There’s also a lot that can be said about outdated assumptions and realities of flying in the jet stream.

Edited to add (ETA).